Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Anna Zoe

This girl works her butt off and she is fantastic at it. She even has her own label! However, this blog isn't about her business sense, but her music, and, believe me, it is just as fantastic. I recently purchased her album on iTunes and it is super great. 

Today, while baking a million cookies, I listened to Fiction in Some Direction three times. Zoe's website says that she is like "Tori Amos having dinner with Coldplay, and meeting Death Cab for Cutie for drinks", and although I believe this is right on, I am also reminded of Alanis Morissette's first album. The energy that Jagged Little Pill had is very similar to the energy coming through in Fiction is Some Direction. If I had to single out one track, which is hard because I truly dug them all, I would say my favorite is track 8, In Love. In Love reminds me of a lullaby, but in a rockin' kinda way.

Every track on the album is wonderful and if your interest has been peaked, follow the link below. Zoe's album can also be found on iTunes. If you do check her out, which I highly recommend (would I ever steer my readers wrong), comment below. I would love to know what my readers thing for once. Don't forget to click the link below and get to know a wonderful musician, Anna Zoe.

Friday, December 9, 2011

Ethan Hanson

Listening to Ethan Hanson for the first time made me smile. Not just any smile, but that "yeah this is what I'm talking about" smile. With a smooth bluesy voice backed by an acoustic guitar I am in heaven. When wanting to relax and enjoy some great music, Hanson sure does deliver.

I am reminded of John Mayer, and not the bad stuff, but the really great stuff, like from the album Continuum. I also get a little sense of Matchbox Twenty, once again their older stuff. The song Real Love by Hanson is perfect. It is one of those songs where the eyes can be closed and the music and lyrics can be felt through every part of the body. I am actually typing with my eyes closed right now listening to Real Love. I especially like the break down in the middle of the song. I believe I even hear a cowbell!

Hanson has a couple of singles on iTunes and you can find him on Twitter as well. Follow the link below and check him out. Grab a beer, or a glass of wine, and just soak in the wonderful tunes!

Sunday, November 27, 2011

Ten Year Vamp

All I can say is why did I not hear this band sooner? They are AWESOME!! Ten Year Vamp is made up of four rockin' dudes, a super hot chick, and lots of energy and style. This band reminds me of something I listened to in high school, but I cannot quite put my finger on it. Their website (at the bottom of this blog) describes them as a mix between No Doubt and Foo Fighters, which I can certainly get on board with.

I recently became aware of this band and got their newest EP, Lust, and I absolutely adore it. I have listened to the record a million times since the first time I heard it. It still has not gotten old, and I don't think it ever will. Normally I would pick a song or two and state why I like each one, but with this record I can not just pick a couple. I truly enjoy every song on Lust!

If you are looking for something that is rockin, sultry, sexy, and a plain out good time, Ten Year Vamp is for you. I encourage every single one of my readers to check this band out. They are on Twitter, @TenYearVamp, and have a fan club on facebook! Look them up and dig this fantastic music with me. As I always promise, there will be no disappointment! Don't forget to check out their website below for show listing, merch, and plenty more.

Saturday, November 12, 2011

MonannLisa Wilde

I am reminded of an album I have always loved when I listen to MonannLisa Wilde. That album is Maybe You've Been Brainwashed Too by The New Radicals. Wilde's music reminds me of this because it is so unique. I believe uniqueness is a hard thing to find these days, but if you are looking for it, then Wilde is where you will find it.

Wilde's voice has a rock star quality to it and at the same time sounds so smooth. Her lyrics can be funny and deep, depending on how a person interprets them. And the music is just incredible. It has a club feel, a rock feel, and a chill feel. I am not sure if that even makes any sense, but this is what I get from Wilde's music.

I am willing to bet if any of my readers check her out, they too will be hooked. I listened to her while doing homework all night last night! You can find her on twitter @MonannLisaWilde and you can get her music and learn more about her at . Check her out, buy her music, support an amazing artist!

Friday, October 28, 2011

The Sing Off

I like to take little breaks from my reviews of musicians and write about something different. This week I am going to write about one of my current obsessions. The Sing Off is a contest in which a cappella groups compete to win the prize of $200,000 and a recording contract. I became addicted to this show their second season, but this season is blowing my mind!

The very first show this season was amazing. I fell in love with Delilah and their cover of Bruno Mars's Grenade. This cover is the best cover I have ever heard and it was a cappella. AMAZING!!!! Therefore, from the start of the show I wanted Delilah to win. I was so impressed.

Then about three shows in, Pentatonix caught my attention with their rendition of Your Love Is My Drug. My guilty pleasure is cheesy pop songs, and Pentatonix's version of this one was incredible. Not to mention their covers of Video Killed The Radio and Love Lockdown, which are the two coolest performances I have ever seen. As Ben Folds said after one of their performances, they really do sound like the future.

The other thing that makes this show so enjoyable for me is Sara Bareilles being one of the judges. As my readers know, she is one of my favorite singer/songwriters of all time. She and the other two judges, Ben Folds, and Shawn Stockman, are the best judges I have seen on a show like this.

I have never been a fan of American Idol, or any of the other reality type singing contests because I think the judges are rude and not very encouraging. Getting up in front of millions of people and singing your heart out takes a lot guts. I just do not find it fair that the judges of these other shows rip apart people for doing what they love to do and I think it makes a mockery of the business. With this being said, The Sing Off is not like that at all. The Sing Off is a showcase of wonderful, and real, talent. The two groups mentioned above are only the beginning. There are now seven groups left and I urge all of my readers, if they are not watching already, to start.

Check out The Sing Off Season 3 on iTunes and at You can also find all of the final groups on Twitter.

Sunday, October 23, 2011

Daniel Levi Goans

As most of my readers know, I have been doing this blog on music reviews for a few months now. While searching for my newest musician to write about, I found Daniel Levi Goans. And wow, I am really glad that I did. Goans has such a smooth and sensual voice. While I am writing this, his music is playing in the background, and I have a smile on my face.

Goans has a confidence in his voice that is thrilling to hear. His music tells a story with every song. I am reminded of music from Dylan and Biaz when I listen to Goans. He has a way of saying things through his music that really makes the listener think. In my opinion, Goans's music does exactly what music is suppose to do. It makes the  listener feel at ease, while at the same time, the listener is hearing a story that makes him/her wonder and ponder life.

I sincerely recommend that all of my readers check out David Levi Goans. His music can be found on iTunes, and his website . Goans deserves to be recognized for his wonderful contribution to the music world and I am glad to be sharing him with all of you! 

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Marilyn Carino

Need some music to just listen too and relax? Marilyn Carino is definitely what you are looking for. When I first heard Carino I immediately thought of Portishead. I have always been a huge fan of Portishead, and I was ecstatic to find a musician that gave me just as much delight has Portishead did, and still does.

I read a bit about Carino and all I can say is WOW. Her amazing music goes right along with her amazing story. This girl has done it all. Before making her solo album she was in the band Mudville (I will definitely be checking them out), as well as being an activist, dating influential men, and donating her time to great causes. Carino says, "“My music is about what I’ve learned about the world and what I’m still figuring out. I think happiness is about freeing the individual, and that’s the theme of my work. We’ve got to feel free to fall down and be a mess, to fuck the wrong people, to fail 99 times and keep coming back to get it right on the 100th. The solution to the hardening of the world around us is personal human revolution.” As she indicates in this quote, her life experience is spread throughout her music and it is certainly worth a listen.

Marilyn Carino is the kind of musician I have been looking for, a musician that has depth, experience, and a wonderful voice to top it all off. I am notorious for ending my reviews with "I promise you will not regret listening to" whatever musician I am writing about at the time, but Carino deserves more than that. I do not just promise no regrets, but also will say if you do not give Marilyn Carino a listen then you are missing one of the greatest musical moments you will ever experience.

Check her out at:

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Sheri Miller

Whimsical! This is the word I thought of as soon as I heard Sheri Miller. A few more words: refreshing, carefree, and fun. Sheri's voice is incredible and her lyrics are lyrics that make me want to tap my fingers and car dance.

I bought her LP recently on iTunes, and love listening to it while I am driving. It just makes me feel good! The first track on this LP titled Spoons is my favorite track. The first time I heard this song, I knew at the very beginning that it was going to be wonderful. As I am driving down the road listening to Spoons, I end up feeling all bubbly and cheerful. Another fantastic track is Winning Hand. I love how Sheri uses poker has a metaphor for love in this song.

If you like a good, carefree time, then Sheri Miller's music is right up your alley. Check her out on twitter @sherimiller and her website . I highly recommend Sheri and cannot wait to hear more from her.   

Thursday, September 22, 2011

Carrie Oeding

This week, instead of a music review, I am going to review the poetry reading I went to at Indiana University South Bend, as well as the book that was read. I had never been to a reading before, and the fact that this was a reading of a poetry book I am currently reading in one of my classes, I was very much looking forward to it. The book is titled Our List Of Solutions and is written by Carrie Oeding. Oeding won a contest and her book was published through 42 Miles Press, the Indiana University South Bend publishing company.
I started reading this book at the beginning of the semester and instantly fell in love with it. I love how the book is simple, yet intense. I instantly liked the way that Oeding writes. She has a way of taking an idea and conveying it in an obscure, yet understanding way. My favorite poem from the book is I Have Been In More Uncomfortable Situations Than This. This poem makes me smile as I read it because most women have felt like this one time or another, and Oeding just puts it out there in a way that makes it humorous. That is the greatest thing about her book to me. The subtle humor is fantastic.

The reading began at 7 o'clock and started with a wonderful introduction from a professor at IUSB, David Dodd Lee. Lee was also a judge in the contest and edited Our List Of Solutions. Hearing Lee speak of Oeding was thrilling. I could feel how excited he was to have her at the school and it made me even more excited to hear her read. When Lee spoke of Oeding, it was so authentic and I could tell how much he believed in her book. After Lee spoke, Carrie took the stage. She was refreshingly funny and seemed right at home reading her poetry. She read a number of poems from her book and gave a little explanation of them before reading. Oeding stuck around after the reading to answer any questions people had and after the questions, she stayed to sign books. I got mine signed! First reading and first signed book for my collection.

I am recommending that my readers pick up a copy of Our List Of Solutions. Oeding is also on Twitter and I am including a link to her website. Check her out! She is an amazingly interesting poet and I promise enjoyment from reading her stuff.

Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Brandy's Top 5

I have decided to stray a bit from my concept for this post, although it is still all about music, and let my readers know what my top five albums of all time are. I have thought about this all week, and I have concluded that this might be the hardest thing I have had to do. I love music and I love that I can listen to a song that fits my mood perfectly, or hear a song that totally changes the way I feel. I love that a whole album can bring me back to when I was younger, or a whole album that I have never heard before can make be change my top five instantly. Basically, the top five I give to you today is most certainly not set in stone, but as of right now, these are the albums I chose to put in Brandy's Top 5.

1. Kaleidoscope Heart by Sara Barellies

This album was released in 2010 and the moment I bought it, it played on my iPod constantly. I am huge fan of all things Sara. Her voice is amazing and she can play the piano wonderfully. This album accentuates Sara's incredible lyric writing skills. If you have not given this album, in its entirety, a listen, then I say to you, "DO IT"!!!

2. Darkside of the Moon by Pink Floyd

I do not think that this album will ever leave my top five, and has been in my top five since I first listened to it. This is one of those albums that makes me think of my days as a teenager. The album, with its beautifully melodic instruments, is perfect for any occasion. I have listened to Darkside of the Moon driving, writing, cleaning, and even while working out. Pink Floyd, as they do in many of their albums, tell a story through Darkside of the Moon, and for that alone, it is a must listen. This album is most certainly a classic.

3. Anti-Christ Superstar by Marilyn Manson

Yup, you read correctly. I adore Marilyn Manson and this album in particular. The raw and hard sound that comes from Anti-Christ Superstar is fantastic. The lyrics on this album, although some think sinister, are real. I am a strong believer that Marilyn Manson, himself, is a terrific showman, and this album in its entirety is one hell of a show.

4. Abbey Road by The Beatles

Abbey Road is another album that will never, ever leave Brandy's Top 5. This one has been my favorite album since I was little. My dad had the record and I remember listening to that, and then the cassette tape. Now of course, I have the remastered c.d. and a digital copy to boot. I love every single thing about this album. I am a huge The Beatles fan, and have every album by them, but this one is just irreplaceable. From Come Together all the way to Her Majesty, I am in complete and utter awe of how incredible this album is.

5. Alice in Chains Unplugged by Alice in Chains

Melancholy, harmonious, and raw. Those words, to me, describe this album. I love Alice in Chains and believe that their Unplugged session was not just amazing, but the best Unplugged album that has ever been released. Layne Staley and Jerry Cantrell are right on with their harmonies on this album, and the guitars, drums, and bass are just as perfect. By "right on" and "perfect" I do not mean mistake free, but that is what makes this album even more beautiful. Their mistakes even sound amazing. If you have never seen, or heard this album, I urge you to do so. Not only will you thank me, but I am pretty sure you will add it to your top five.

As I said earlier, these albums are not set in stone, but for right now, they are Brandy's Top 5.

Wednesday, September 7, 2011

Arrest My Sister

If you are a fan of awesome rock bands from the 80's and early 90's,this band is for you! Arrest My Sister not only has an interesting and unique name, but they have a sound to go with it. The band is based in L.A. and has been together since 2009.

I recently purchased their first album, Make Your Move, which was released in 2010. I have enjoyed every track very much. I fell in love with track number 2, appropriately called Take the Fall. This track makes me want to throw my hands up in the air and be free. I love how this song makes me feel like I can conquer anything. I am also a huge fan of track 13, Through the Looking Glass. The guitar is amazing on this song, and the lyrics are just as amazing.

Arrest My Sister is a flashback to the sounds of the 80's and 90's, but also very modern. I can honestly say this album is one of the best I have purchased all year, and if my readers know me, I purchase a lot of music. Check these guys out at the website below, then go to iTunes, and buy their album. I promise my readers will enjoy Arrest My Sister has much as I do!

Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Mike Peralta

This week's review is all about Mike Peralta. I feel this is an appropriate follow up to my last post about 90's musicians. After visiting Mike Peralta's website and purchasing some of his music on iTunes, I feel very nostalgic for the music I listened to while in my teens.

Mike Peralta's sound is all over the place, but I mean this in the best way. One song will be raw and rockin' and then the next is melodic and soothing. In his song Fosner, I am reminded of Nirvana. This song has a rawness about it that makes me smile. Another single, Dark Over Here, is a wonderful example of the smoothness of Peralta's voice. His voice is the best thing about his music. It is incredibly unique and after hearing him once, I was hooked.

In September, Peralta is releasing a new single, which I have had the pleasure of being able to hear before it is released. The song is called A Story Forever. Mike had asked for some descriptions of it through Twitter, and this is what I came up with: The night sky, full of stars, continues through space and time forever. A Story Forever, with its beautifully written lyrics, is like the brightest star in the night sky. Not really knowing where it begins, or where it ends, it envelops and brightens, yet lets the listener feel the melancholy of forever. The lyrics to this song are amazing and I urge all of my readers to listen as soon as it is released.

Please check out Mike Peralta on iTunes and at his website I promise there will be no regrets!

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Gone To Soon

Today a friend of mine posted a YouTube video of one of my favorite Blind Melon songs, Mouthful of Cavities.  After watching this video, I began watching the Behind the Music for Blind Melon, which also led to me watching the Behind the Music for Sublime.  After watching these videos, I also realized that today is the anniversary of the death of another '90s musician, Aaliyha. These are the musicians and the music of my youth and so many of them are tragically gone to soon.

I remember the first time I heard No Rain on MTV.  I remember thinking, "These dudes are crazy, but interesting and great too".  After seeing the No Rain video, I went out and bought the album Blind Melon. Blind Melon was a wonderful album, but Soup, in my opinion is their masterpiece.  Shannon Hoon, the lead singer of Blind Melon, was also a heroin addict and used many other drugs.  Hoon fought to get sober after his daughter, Nico, was born, but alas, on October 21, 1995, Shannon was found on his tour bus dead.  He had overdosed and left Nico, and her mother, on their own.  

Bradley Nowell, the lead singer and founding member of Sublime, also had a drug problem.  Bradley fought with his addiction for years and finally became sober when his son was born.  After being sober and having his son, he married the mother of the boy.  Nowell was the happiest anyone had ever seen him and then he and the guys went back on tour.  Being on the road ended up being too much and Nowell relapsed on May 26, 1996 and overdosed.  He was found in his and his band mate’s hotel room in the morning, barely on the bed, next to his cherished dalmatian, Lou Dog.

I will never forget the day I heard Layne Staley passed away.  I was 21 years old and still an avid Alice in Chains fan.  Hell, I still listen to AIC all the time.  The day was April 5, 2002, I had walked down to my neighbor’s apartment, and he told me Layne had overdosed.  I cried.  Sounds silly, I know, but he just had a place in my heart, with his depressing, yet understanding lyrics.  Another musician lost to the grips of drugs.

I do not want to forget to pay homage to the likes of Kurt Cobain (Nirvana), Aaliyha, Hillel Slovak (Red Hot Chili Peppers), Tupac, and the many other musicians who left too early.  Whether it was drugs, which it usually is, or other horrific reasons, these people all have a place in my childhood and now my adulthood.  I hope that all my readers will take a moment to honor these often misunderstood, but wonderful people.

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Jenn Bostic

Wow, I truly do not know where to begin with Jenn Bostic. I absolutely adore her music, and can relate to her story.  Just like Jenn, I lost a parent too, but I dealt with it in a different way than she did.  Jenn Bostic has taken all of her emotions and put them into her music and the music is wonderful.

The first song I listened to by Jenn was Missin' A Man, and as soon as I heard it, I knew I had to get more of her music!  Since hearing that song, I have purchased an album of hers too.  The songs on Keep Lookin' For Love each have their very own feel.  I love that Jenn Bostic has a sense of humor in her song Gay or Taken.  She wonders where all the single straight guys are, but it is all in good fun, although I am sure most women have wondered this at one time or another.  I have listened to this album many times already and during the listening I feel: sad, happy, humored, and nostalgic, all at the same time. Next, I watched Jenn's video for Jealous of the Angels and it is beautiful. The piano, which is played wonderfully, is uplifting. The song is so heartfelt I could actually feel her emotion has she sings.

I cannot wait to get more music from Jenn Bostic and I urge all of my readers to check her out as well. I promise there will be no regrets in doing so. A little bit country, a little bit pop, and a whole lot of experience and emotion, Jenn Bostic is an amazing artist.

Check her out here:

Wednesday, August 17, 2011

Giana Nguyen

Giana Nguyen is the perfect artist for me to feature for my first music blog.  She is based out of California and has a familiar, yet unique sound.  Giana writes her own lyrics and plays the piano beautifully to go along with her heartfelt words.  With a sound that is reminiscent of artists such as Colbie Calliet, and my personal favorite, Sara Barellies, Giana Nguyen is a rising star.

Her EP, which was released on February 22, 2011, includes the songs: More, Until You, Just For This Moment, Twister, For Now, and Firefly.  Of the six songs, my favorite is For Now.  This song is track number five on the EP and the lyrics are so honest.   For anyone who has ever fallen for someone that had no idea, this song is relatable.  Not to mention, the music makes me feel at ease, as well as want to “bop” around.

Relatable lyrics, killer piano, and a magnificent voice.  Giana Nguyen most certainly has the makings of an artist that will go far.  I sincerely recommend to all of my readers to give her a listen. 
To check out Giana follow this link:

Sunday, August 14, 2011


I have loved music my whole life! I remember being a little girl and hearing The Beatles for the first time and thinking how I wanted to do nothing but listen to Abbey Road. Although I still love The Beatles, I have grown to love all different types of music. I have started this blog for two reasons. One, I want to help promote local/independent artists that deserve a chance to get out there and to be known. Two, I am working on a career in the communications field and would like to give myself the chance to get out there and to be known. I will post a new blog once a week about a new artist that I have listened to and enjoyed. My hopes are that people will read these postings and discover new music, as well as share this new music with their friends!